Shit Girls Say

I can’t stop watching this video.

Listen, listen, listen, listen

Probably because it’s simultaneously hilarious & embarrassingly similar to some things I’ve found myself saying. If I knew the number of times I’ve asked my boyfriend to look through my purse, I, well, wouldn’t share it here. I even performed a small experiment by asking my boyfriend to do me, like, a “huge favor” using exaggerated rising intonation which I thought maybe would lead him to believe I was asking in jest. But he being a great boyfriend, was ready to oblige. I, on the other hand, might be a mean girlfriend…

Somehow I feel a “Shit Dudes Say” video wouldn’t be nearly as funny.

P.S. If I looked like a doily, you would tell me, right?

2 Comments

Filed under Linguistics

2 responses to “Shit Girls Say

  1. I think I say about 80% of phrases in that video. But some of them don’t strike me as things only women say. Like “Could you turn that down a bit?”– how is that woman-only phrase?

    • Maybe it’s in the intonation. There’s something distinctive about it (again wishing I were a phonetician) & I think it changes the nature of the speech act, rendering it more indirect. Indirect-er. If I had to take a stab in the dark, I’d say again that it’s the exaggerated high rising terminal plus a pause that suggests some hesitation that lend a bit more indirectness to her request.

      But more generally, I absolutely love this video (& those like it) because they’re examples of the general public showing sensitivity to linguistic differences based on gender, race, region, etc. And not in a discriminatory, denigrating fashion. Of course I can understand some might be offended by it. I’m interested in what ordinary people have to say about language, & this encourages me to believe that people enjoy thinking about language & variation in individual differences.

      At the same time, it has to be taken with a grain of salt because a lot of times it will be less a fun video & more legitimately targeting the speech of a certain group in a malicious way. I should just put this comment in the blog post itself, now that I’m thinking about it. Hah. Thanks for directing my attention to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

